Key Stages 2-4

The Curriculum

All our learners follow an intensive three year Social, Emotional and Mental Health (SEMH) curriculum to provide the skills and knowledge to overcome learners’ previous barriers to learning. The three years are split into six themes:

• Heathy Lifestyles
• Ourselves, Growing and Changing
• Families and Relationships
• Shared Responsibilities
• The Wider Community
• Economic Wellbeing

On completion of the six themes, learners are then supported to develop personalised learning pathways incorporating longer term projects, using the skills and knowledge they have developed over the first three years.

Our innovative experiential curriculum is designed to meet learners’ SEMH needs, develop coping skills and change behaviour. This is in addition to achieving academic outcomes for all key areas of education including, English, Mathematics, STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics), Enterprise, Citizenship, PHSE (Personal Health and Social Education) Physical Education and Humanities.

Having extended our school age to 16, we will now be able to deliver KS4 to all our learners. During Year 9, learners across the sites will have a gradual transition getting to know one another and beginning to step into Phase 3 of our curriculum. Vocational and academic courses will be available depending on the young people’s interests and learning styles. There will be a core offering of ASDAN awards, Functional Skills and Duke of Edinburgh Bronze with more bespoke elements also on offer.  SEMH will still be at the core of all we do and learners will follow a life skills and careers programme which will include work experience and residentials. All throughout we will be supporting and inspiring our young people to be lifelong learners ready for their next steps in life, whether that be college, employment or apprenticeships.